Let Travel In Nova Scotia help you book more business from the Internet.
Canning was initially called "Apple Tree Landing," then it was called "Habitat Corner." Finally, the town settled on Canning for its present day title. Canning was originally an Acadian settlement, until they were expelled in 1755. New England Planters settled on the land in 1760, and then the Dutch came after WWII. The name, Canning, derived from former British Prime Minister George Canning. Canning is located just 103 km (64 mi.) from Halifax.
Once, Canning was a prosperous town with a shipbuilding centre and a railway called the Cornwallis Valley Railway, which was thwarted in 1961. Today, Canning is known more for tourism.
The Canning Heritage Centre showcases Canning's history, and is open in summer months. Canning is home to the Ross Creek Centre for the Arts, a gallery that exhibits talent from Aboriginal communities. 'The Lookoff' is a lookout point to the Bay of Fundy, and shows panoramic views of the Minas Basin and Annapolis Valley. The Blomidon Provincial Park offers unique wildlife habitats and shoreline cliffs where the world's largest tides can be seen. The park also has a beach, and hiking and biking trails. The Blomidon Estate Winery is a scenic vista offering free tours and tastings of world class wine in a 25-acre vineyard.
Canning accommodations include inns, bed and breakfasts and campgrounds.
|Farmhouse Inn B&B||B&B||Canning||9757 Main St|
|Look Inn Guest Room||Long Term||Canning||3369 Hwy 358|
|Look Off Family Camping Park||RV/Camping||Canning||3369 Hwy 358|
|Welcomhome Bed & Breakfast||B&B||Canning||9955 Main St|